Count Chocula contains pork

Posted by Mark

The only reason I am posting about this is because I no longer can eat Count Chocula because of my diet. I love Count Chocula and I wouldn’t want Sultan Center to stop getting it but since I can’t have it now no one will (insert evil laugh here). A reader called Zack sent me an email saying that he asked General Mills (the company behind Count Chocula) if it contained any pork products and they told him it did. Of course I had to check myself so I emailed General Mills and this is what they replied:

Hello Mark :

Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry. In answer to your question, the gelatin that is used in the marshmallows of the cereal is derived from pork.

We hope you find this information helpful. Please let us know if we can help you again.

Thank you,

Paula
Customer Care Specialist

So there you have it. Count Chocula contains pork. I wonder if other cereals that contain marshmallows like Lucky Charms also contains pork gelatin?


google plus share facebook share twitter share




65 comments, add your own...


  1. Funny story says:

    Apart from mouth wash, where can we get alcohol pls?

  2. lima says:

    oh shit .. i bought it after ur post LOOL

  3. Akbar says:

    Stick to Almarai or Saudia for diary and for Cereals, you could try Sultan products even though they may taste like wood…

  4. Frankom says:

    you are boycotting everything dude !

  5. SAD says:

    I did eat a whole box :(
    Marshmallows are pork except (fish gelatin) and kosher.
    Thanks Mark.

  6. yousef says:

    You’d be surprised how many things have gelatin in them, and 90% of the time it’s pork derived gelatin. Lard too.

  7. FYI says:

    no wonder why they taste so good.

  8. lendmeurear says:

    So let me get this straight, the USA-made marshmallows that I from any supermarket contain pork? I haven’t looked at the ingredients…

  9. f says:

    did you have to advertise that?
    now they’ll be discontinued

  10. FONZIE says:

    Noooooooooooo, u ruined my whole life now ;(

  11. Tima says:

    But, wait, a lot of US candy contains pork gelatin. When it is brought to Kuwait, or Mid East countries, they remake them. So check where the product is actually made, then check it’s ingredients. The count Chocula in US, would most likely contain pork gelatin, but it probably won’t in Kuwait. So who ever is in kuwait, go to SC and check that stuff out.

  12. Entra-P-Noor says:

    Mark,

    To boycott Gelatin you will have to stop having many many things not only a cereal. For one, its used as the basic component of the shell of most medical capsules.

    check Wiki, with this link:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

    While in the USA, someone told us that Pig Skin and Bones is not haram, only the meat is. and that Pig bones were used as Combs in the early days.

    Do not depend on this and do your own asking.

  13. bob says:

    im gunna go buy the whole stock today before they throw em away!!! its pork man!! pork!!!! >.<

  14. DeReD says:

    HAPPY APRIL’S FOOL TO YOU TOOO MARKO!!

    LOL!

    GOOD ONE!

  15. lolcat says:

    nice try

  16. jiblawi says:

    loooool so people have been eating pork wuhom mayadroon 9ij lijna3aat 3alaihum daggaaat looooooool !

  17. AlahBelKhair says:

    DeRed and lolcat..
    sorry to ruin your day .. but its not April’s Fool .. gelatin is found in many kinds of food… such as gummy bears and marshmallows.. and they do actually get this substance from pigs..

    to support Marks “argument” you can check Wikipedia
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

  18. Mark says:

    Entra-P-Noor: I am not boycotting anything.. i don’t have an issue with pork

    DeReD: This post was from yesterday so it’s not an April Fools post and if it was it would be a lame one.

  19. Mark says:

    Tima: They don’t make Lucky Charms or Count Chocula in the region, they are direct US imports.

  20. zaysal says:

    Most cereals that have marshmellows (ESP
    US products) use pork geletin. Also a lot of gummi snacks, starburst etc also have the same.

  21. Just says:

    Anyone with a nose like that deserves to be taken off the shelf.

  22. dave says:

    You just created a havoc..

  23. Joesbox says:

    Your Making a Buzz! well done!

  24. M says:

    Apart from it being Haram…

    Does anyone want to eat something that eats its own crap???????

    “من ترك شيئا لله عوضه الله خيرا منه”
    قال الشيخ الألباني -رحمه الله- هذا من حديث رواه أحمد بسند صحيح

  25. Fahad says:

    Appreciate the heads up Mark.
    Sultan Center should do their research and be a lot more careful.

    I’d also like to point out the “Whole Grain Guaranteed” banner on the top of the cereal box is total BS. Companies are getting sued by the FDA if they use slogans like that incorrectly, including “low-fat”, “sugar-free” and “heart-healthy.”

  26. yoshe says:

    All products that contain gelatin that are imported from the States contain pork gelatin. Like Starburt and all…any gelatin produced in the States is derived from Prok unless in the ingredients it specifies K-Gelatin. K-Gelatin is Kosher Gelatin, because Jews too can’t eat pork. So, if you want to know, check the ingredients label, if it says K-Gelatin, then you’re good to eat it. This of course is only for food products manufactured in the States.

  27. Tyrant says:

    People for crying out loud, its just a god damn food product – eat it or leave it. If it contains pork, rat, snake, or even dinosaurs !!!

    damn if it tastes good and u want it – GO GET IT ;)

  28. Danderma says:

    Most of the American Cereals contain pork Gelatine
    thats why i cannot have my mini wheats :`(

    and my poptarts! i LIVED on those pop tarts :`(

    and there is the rice krispies bars… they don’t say gelatine but they say E441 which is the code for pork gelatine

    Haribo’s contain pork gelatine too…

    If you have to eat cereal products eat the UK produced ones… esp. the ones that say ‘suitable for vegeterians’

    Read the label ppl…

  29. Loush says:

    Thanks Mark for sharing that.. I and many others really appreaciate it.

  30. lendmeurear says:

    thanks for the info yoshe

  31. Tayyab Ajmal says:

    Hi Mark,

    Hope so you will not purchase it any more. Allah Almighty has abhorred Humankind as not to eat pork. Even scientific study shows that pork contains material which is NOT healthy to intake. As far as I know pig was bloated with evil spirits. Try to eat goat meat, fish and chicken.
    Regards,
    Tayyab

  32. D says:

    Mark. why would you care? or post? as if we need another food boycutting.

    to TSC haters, you have options if NOT buying from Sultan.. go to your alternative (Carrefour/Geant/Co-op) instead of complaining and bashing the company.

  33. Zack says:

    @ Entra-P-Noor
    You became Muslim Muftii as well!
    Everything in Pork is Haram in Islam, and bad for health based on western researches and tests.
    @ FYI .. most stupid comment ever!
    @ bob .. Animal Gelatin is tasteless.
    OMG read people!

  34. Zack says:

    @ D
    If you read the post you will know that Mark said he don’t care about Pork, it is someone called Zack that Investigate that.
    Take it easy man and focus on the main Issue.

  35. Fahad says:

    D,
    This is a Muslim country; and Mark is doing a lot of Muslims and TSC a huge favor.

    If TSC aren’t careful with what they bring in, both the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Commerce will shut them down faster than you can say “oink”.

  36. Suleiman says:

    Nevermind.

    I have a secret diet and training program that gets you ‘ripped’ using Captain Crunch.

  37. Asim says:

    I see “April Fool” written all over this post !! :P Ha Ha Ha …

  38. Ozy says:

    So what..? oh right…Islam.

  39. Ralph says:

    Half of the products in Kuwait contain pork or derived from pork. Although it’s not mentioned on the pack because they carefully changed for all products sent to the Middle East.
    Grab the same product from Kuwait and another from Europe or the States and check the ingredients to see the differences. Tailored marketing. So don’t make a big deal about of this as you might ban this product but continue to consume hundred of other items that contain pork.

  40. HHH says:

    I agree with Ralph, not to mention that half of the medecinal capsules are made of gelatines!!! btw, as far as I know, the way of doing the gelatin tranforms it to a different product with no relation to the original at all and there is no lab test that identifies its source!!!

    I would personnaly continue buying Chocula or any other american cereals from Sultan as there is nothing similar!!!

  41. moe says:

    My fatwa: u cannot eat pigs meat. but u may eat gelatin since its not meat. thank you

  42. s. says:

    lol thanks moe

  43. s. says:

    Fahad… MoH/MoC can NEVER close down Sultan. Items containing pork or alcohol have always been in the newspapers, and all they do is take it out of the shelf. Not to mentioned that a lot of the food on the shelf is expired. They had valid reasons to punish TSC, but weren’t able to.

  44. zaydoun says:

    I think the Quran said don’t eat pork MEAT, not junk cereal made from pork gelatin extracts

    This is taking it waaaay too far

  45. Dan says:

    Be careful of Pop Tarts! The frosted ones contain gelatin.

  46. Jens says:

    M says:
    Apart from it being Haram…

    Does anyone want to eat something that eats its own crap???????
    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    Does anyone want to eat something that eats your crap? Like all the seafood which is feed with it since last year here in Q8 ;-)

  47. Basamigi says:

    Thanks for the warning Mark.. and yes .. Lucky charms contains pork :)
    http://www.livestrong.com/article/90161-list-cereals-pork/

  48. TweeZ says:

    Mark,

    I think you should do more research regarding this matter by asking the RIGHT questions.

    Did you know that General Mills has a different standard for when it comes to the MENA region?

    You should have been more accurate by asking the customer care specialist if the products in the MENA region contained any pork. It is obvious that they have answered you on a general basis.

    Don’t you think that TSC and General Mills have thought about this issue and the potential financial problems that this may produce?

    As a blogger, you have to check and RE-CHECK your facts before you create a controversy.

  49. Mark says:

    Tweez, maybe you should read all the comments first. I already mentioned there is no cont chocula mena that’s why u don’t find them anywhere excep sultan, they import them directly from the US. We get the US version.

  50. TweeZ says:

    I have read the post and I cannot find a sigle official source that states that. I am not saying that I am official, but what I am recomending is that we don’t jump to conclusions YET.

    I think that an official appology or an explanation to debunk these claims from TSC is very much needed indeed.

  51. Mark says:

    That states what? The Count Chocula we get is US based? Dude, all you need to do is pass by Sultan Center and check out the labels. The US imported cereals cost KD1.990 and contain a white label on them with the arabic ingredients and details on them. You can find for example two kinds of Smacks. For KD1.250 you can get the regionally produced smacks that have arabic on the boxes and the bags inside are white. Or you can have the US imported Smacks for KD1.990 which has no Arabic on the box and the bag inside is silver with much better tasting and stickier Smacks. Lucky Charms, Cheerios, and a bunch of others are all directly imported from the States.

  52. TweeZ says:

    well, since you’ve taken the time and effort to email General Mills, why not email or get a word from TSC so that all your readers can come to a fair conclusion regarding this subject?

    One should always be fair by getting the other side of the story.

  53. D. says:

    M:
    Rabbits eat their own crap too.

  54. Mark says:

    Tweez: You could contact them if you want just like Zack contacted General Mills.

  55. TweeZ says:

    instead of me contacting, you should be setting a good example to the blogging community by doing it.

  56. Mark says:

    I did set an example by contacting general mills and ask them myself to confirm this. I don’t see what good it would do to contact Sultan Center specially since this post is like dead now. They can’t deny getting the product and if they say it doesn’t contain pig gelatin and general mill says it does who would you believe?

    But if you feel like it go ahead and email them and share with us their response, I would be more than glad to share it here.

  57. Tariq says:

    First of all thank you very much Mark for opening our eyes for a subject that really interests me.

    Reading most of the responds and comments made from others talking about Fatwa or Islam or what so ever i think that People as Muslims, Christians or any Other Religion on this earth should have the right to know what they got in there food im not against anyone who wants to eat what so ever its a matter of choice.

    Although, if this Product as announced contains pork derived gelatin, or what ever that the source it self that came from is something we don’t like or banned from our religion and belief, it should be Banned, Announced or Removed On/from the Market our of respect of peoples rights.

    i know that we live in Kuwait and all but please. Someone must do something about this even if its a try.

  58. Tubs says:

    Everything that isnt produced in the Gulf contains Pork Gelatin unless it states its VEGETARIAN gelatin..
    One more note, the BIG majority of sweets have gelatin!

  59. [...] guess the gelatin issue isn’t really an issue.  Print  Email May 16, [...]

  60. Nivine says:

    To answer your question “I wonder if other cereals that contain marshmallows like Lucky Charms also contains pork gelatin?”

    Hello Ms. Nivine:

    Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry.
    Cereals with marbits include: Lucky Charms

    Chocolate Lucky Charms

    Berry Lucky Charms

    Count Chocula

    Boo Berry
    Frankenberry

    Kaboom

    The gelatin in the marshmallow pieces (marbits) is derived from pork skins.

    These cereals are not kosher.

    We hope you find this information helpful. Please let us know if we can help you again.

    Thank you,

    Bridget Davis
    Customer Care Specialist

    (Other Products.)

    Ms Nivine,

    We received your message and appreciate the time you took to contact Pepperidge Farm.

    The gelatin that is used in our Pepperidge Farm 3-Layer Cakes is derived from pork. We hope this information is helpful to you.

    Thank you for visiting the Pepperidge Farm website.

    Pepperidge Farm Web Team
    CAB/cl

    005032226A

  61. il trog says:

    C’mon guys. Kuwait is a melting pot and you should be more open to individual choices. Many people who do not follow Islam also live here. Why can’t we keep the food on the shelves but mark it as containing pork? That way each person may choose for him or her self and their lifestyle. And of course to be fair to the Muslim population and make sure all are aware, let it publicly be known what foods contain pork derivatives…if that’s even haram, I don’t know. I know it’s far-fetched but doesn’t it seem to be the right way to go about it? TSC IS, after all, a western food focused store. If you don’t like what they put in their food, simply don’t eat it. Anyway, I’m just waiting for a new law I heard will be going into effect in the not too distant future…kuwait’s making alcohol legal again!! :D and I’m crossing my fingers that along with that, pork will be acceptable here as well. I’m sorry but beef bacon just sucks.

    Ok and for the real reason I came here to post (lol I know)…where can you buy lucky charms in Kuwait!?? My husband said he found them once at a random baqala but he doesn’t remember where. And I thought I saw them at TSC once but I haven’t since. I need my lucky charms! The lack of selection here is getting old :(

  62. Noorhr says:

    حسبي الله ونعم الوكيل


Leave a Reply



Commenting is a privilege not a right. I allow comments on the site because I believe that you can make a valuable contribution but in return I expect that you comment responsibly.


Contribute

If you have anything you think would be interesting to share on this blog
[Email Me]